Frequently Asked Questions

What are the requirements to apply for a Colorado Concealed Handgun Permit?

You must be 21 years old, a Colorado resident and not prohibited from possessing a firearm under state or federal law. You must provide proof that you have taken the required firearms training.

How do I apply for a Colorado permit?

You apply in person at your local sheriff's office. The application form is available here: Colorado Concealed Handgun Permit Application

How much does the permit cost?

The fee varies by county, but between $52.50 and $152.50. This includes a background check fee to the Colorado Bureau of Investigation ($52.50) and a processing fee to your county sheriff ($100 max).

How long is the permit valid?

The permit is valid for 5 years.

Where can I get additional information?

For Colorado carry laws and links: and

Can I take an online training course to get my permit?

No. Online training courses do not satisfy Colorado training requirements.

Who may take the class?

Anyone may take the class including those who reside in other states and foreign nationals. However, you must meet certain state requirements to receive your permit.

What should I bring to the class?

Your driver's license or state-issued ID.

What states is my permit valid in?

A Colorado concealed handgun permit is honored in 35 states. See the map on the Classes page or click on any state in this reciprocity map to see the states where that permit is honored.

When I get my permit, should I carry a handgun?

Carrying a loaded gun is not meant to bring some excitement into your life. When you carry a concealed handgun, you take on an extra burden and a significant responsibility to yourself, your family and your community. You carry the means to protect life and deal out death. You will be held to a higher standard of conduct.

If you cannot accept this responsibility, adapt your lifestyle, and make a significant commitment to training, you should not carry a handgun. You will be a risk to yourself and those around you.

When should I use a gun to defend myself?

If you ever shoot someone no matter how justified, your life as you know it is over. Don't ever do it unless it is the absolute last resort to save your life or the life of someone you care about.